Daily Archives: December 23, 2012

Today, as I was writing my post on my Cyber-Knossos project, I had started taking snapshots of the build so that I could show you what I was doing. However, for reasons that are well beyond my grasp, one of the snapshots (I even saw it in the preview of the snapshot floater in my viewer, but saved it anyway – and the next one was just the same) ended up like this:

Snapshot_888

Borked snapshot

The next one was pretty much the same, like I said. So, I relogged and went back to my beloved habit of snappity-snap-snapping away. And I ended up with this (see the red circle – the top of the pillar was simply invisible, so were other objects):

Snapshot_890

Missing prims (rez fail)

Of course, the prims weren’t really missing; they just hadn’t rezzed. At any rate, this didn’t stop me from working on the build. But still, I wonder what causes these graphics glitches. Could it be the crappy ATI/AMD drivers for Linux that caused that borked snapshot? As for the rez fail, what causes it? Beats me.

.

Mona (formerly slutrix)

.

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p2pUmX-28

.

First posted at: http://wp.me/p2RycE-28

Those who have known me for any period of time here in SL are quite aware of my obsession with the Minoan civilization. Well, for starters I must say that it’s my boyfriend who should be blamed for this; he’s the one that got me into this whole thing. Now, what is it that makes this mysterious Bronze Age civilization so interesting and intriguing to me? Let’s see…

  1. It was the first significant civilization in Europe.
  2. By all accounts, it seems that it was a matriarchal society, or at the very least a society in which women were not considered inferior to men.
  3. For its time, it was highly advanced, with artifacts that were exquisitely crafted (jewelry, pottery, even utensils for daily use).
  4. A further sign of how advanced this civilization was is its architecture, with multi-story buildings possessing extremely elaborate floor plans and covering very large surfaces (it is believed that the labyrinth of Greek mythology was inspired by the complicated architecture of the city* of Knossos); these buildings made extensive use of lightwells and polythyra (arrangements of multiple doorways placed one next to the other) to get sunlight and fresh air even down to the lowest floors. Also, the Minoans constructed a very well-designed system of aqueducts and drainage pipes to get fresh water to their palaces and cities, and get the waste water out.
  5. While the artifacts and the references in the ancient Egyptian archives tell us quite a bit, we’re never going to know everything about the Minoans, because their writing is highly unlikely to ever be deciphered, for want of an equivalent for the Rosetta Stone. Therefore, understanding this civilization is somewhat open-ended.
  6. Its art celebrated the small, “mundane” pleasures of life, nature and even sensuality.
  7. They were fashion pioneers, with fitted dresses, often with a series of ruffles, and they were combined with tight-fitting bodices that left the breasts exposed – compare that to the “for God’s name, woman! Cover up!” attitude of later patriarchal societies that have been oppressing women until our days…
  8. I’m sick and tired of the super-cheesy reproductions of buildings from the classical antiquity in Second Life – let’s do something different, shall we?
  9. The fact that neo-nazi offspring of the WW2 nazi collaborators (posing as “patriots” – how ironic) in Greece have usurped Greece’s ancient history, distorted it and put it through the shredder, mixing it with their crap (the people of the movie “300” have a lot to answer for in this department) has poisoned this era for me, forever.
  10. It’s the civilization on which Plato created his fable of the Atlantis! How can a civilization get more cool than that?

Read Full Article