Builder’s Log, 27 December 2012

OK everyone, it’s been a while since I last posted anything here. I’m going to give you all an update on my Cyber-Knossos project. I’ve already stated the incentives I’ve had to start this build. Well, to be entirely honest with you, these incentives have never ceased existing; I’ve had them for a long time and, as I mentioned in my last post, there were quite a few abortive attempts on my behalf to make something that echoes the architecture of the great Minoan civilization.

It’s not easy, I must say. The standard textures you can find at places like Textures R Us or E&D Engineering have only limited usefulness for two reasons: First of all, no one in SL has really made proper masonry wall textures for Minoan and Mycenaean builds (the closest I’ve found are rubble wall textures, but the Minoan and Mycenaean builders were smart enough to cover rubble walls with pseudo-masonry carved in plaster, and they also often used properly cut stones for their walls). Second, no one in SL has bothered to research and recreate the many lush frescoes of these great builds; instead, they’ve preferred to get lazy about it and just scan photos of the frescoes from books (or even download pictures from websites and use them as they are).

This means, of course, that a lot of the textures will have to be custom-made with lots of work in Photoshop (for Windows users) or Gimp (for Linux users like me). I’ve also taken quite a few liberties and artistic licences, because of SL’s constraints (especially regarding camming around in cramped places), because of prim limitations, because even Sir Arthur Evans himself used conjecture to interpret his findings and, lastly, because I want to make a build that suits my current view of the virtual world and my current tastes better. So, I’m going to make my own version of Knossos; it is going to be inspired by the sort of sci-fi/cyberpunk architectural clichés you would expect to see in such a build. And the backstory that I’m working on will incorporate my fetishes. I know the history buffs might dislike it, but I don’t really care.

I mentioned that I’m writing a backstory. Indeed, I am; I’m going to make a write-up (which will eventually be put up on a special blog or website for that build) that will provide some proper information on what we know and can assume about the Minoans, and it will explain in what ways this civilization inspired me.

For now though, I think it’s time to give you some more pictures of how the build is progressing. Pardon the plywood textures!

OK, so I've started working on the West Wing's textures again. I've already made the first custom textures (see them in the middle of the Tripartite Shrine) and I've opted to make the main features of the build stand out through a combination of full bright and glow.

OK, so I’ve started working on the West Wing’s textures again. I’ve already made the first custom textures (see them in the middle of the Tripartite Shrine) and I’ve opted to make the main features of the build stand out through a combination of full bright and glow.

A quick'n dirty (so it's not perfect) picture of the Tripartite Shrine, showing the new texture. In the background, the wall is pretty much finished and there's something there that wasn't in the original build: I made a balcony on top of the tallest pillar, making this part some sort of a small grandstand. I do have some misgivings about it, though.

A quick’n dirty (so it’s not perfect) picture of the Tripartite Shrine, showing the new texture. In the background, the wall is pretty much finished and there’s something there that wasn’t in the original build: I made a balcony on top of the tallest pillar, making this part some sort of a small grandstand. I do have some misgivings about it, though.

A view of the throne room, which was actually a room converted by the Mycenaeans when they conquered the once-great Minoan state. More explanations on this will come later. And yes, I took some liberties here too.

A view of the throne room, which was actually a room converted by the Mycenaeans when they conquered the once-great Minoan state. More explanations on this will come later. And yes, I took some liberties here too.

Well, that’s it for now. More will come later as the building progresses. Until then, take care, have fun and stay safe and drama-free!

.

Mona (formerly slutrix)

.

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p2pUmX-2n

.

First posted at: http://wp.me/p2RycE-2n

