My personal take on the SL10B builds

First of all, you may have noticed that the official SL10BCC banner is nowhere to be found on this post. Well, you won’t see it – after quite some thought, I finally decided against acting as an “official” SLB blogger, because I prefer to be able to voice my personal opinion independently and without the self-censorship (i.e. forcing myself to either keep my mouth shut or even go “squee” about things I don’t like) that being an “official” or “embedded” blogger entails. This might cause some people to get their knickers in a bunch, but sorry, I’m just being honest here and I’m not prepared to abolish my right to have an opinion in the name of meaningless PR.

For SL10B, some people actually did some great work. For instance, Marianne McCann’s History Walk is absolutely great; easy on resources, well-laid out, easy on the eye, a pleasure to walk around, it fits the theme of the event and it works. It doesn’t overwhelm the visitor and doesn’t eat up your computer and your viewer. So is the A’stra stage (the “turtle” island). An absolutely gorgeous build that everyone needs to see and enjoy. Bear Island is also a great place. As for the “Cake Stage”… Well, while it does look impressive, it can take a century (or thereabouts) to rez. Not an efficient build by a country mile – and its dimensions mean that, if it’s half-rezzed, it can easily turn that snapshot you were trying so hard to frame into a photobomb. This is a fault shared with far too many builds in SL10B, and that’s simply because builders were allowed to go bonkers w.r.t. the height of their builds. Oh, and the prim bonuses were a mistake. The builders should have been instructed to work within the existing limits, like them or not.

Another problem I saw with SL10BCC was the abundance of blatantly commercial builds. I won’t name names, the culprits know who they are. I thought SL10BCC celebrated SL’s 10th birthday and SL’s community; having so many builds that are nothing but sales pitches reduces the event into a commercial exhibition. Some exhibitors obviously thought SL10BCC was a sort of a mega-mall or something, but preventing this sort of thing from emerging is the duty of the event’s organising committee.

I’ll ask once again: Why were builders allowed to go bonkers w.r.t. the height of their builds? There are areas where one cannot help but wonder if the builders engaged in a pissing contest of some sort. Naturally, many samples of this tower-a-thon were the kind of thing that would be banned from a residential sim on grounds of being eyesores; personally, I derendered and blacklisted them.

Evan Moonshine's Lepidoptera Museum

Evan Moonshine’s Lepidoptera Museum

Also, I find it appalling that several artists chose to regurgitate old builds they used in previous SLBs and similar events; builds we’ve seen before, builds we’ve seen last year, two years ago, three years ago, even four years ago. It shows laziness on their behalf – to say the least. If I were in the organising committee, I’d be wondering if that’s an indicator of how much they care about the event; whereas some builders and exhibitors made the effort to give us some really nice builds (to give you a few further examples, see Gwark Allen’s Space and Time Telescope – despite its height, it’s a good build – or Evan Moonshine’s cozy, understated and elegant Lepidoptera Museum, or Marianne McCann’s Classic Telehub, or Crap Mariner’s Shatoetry) and gave it their all, some others simply said “meh, I’ll just reuse something I’ve had for, like, ages – it’s not like they’ll notice.” Personally, I don’t like this attitude at all. It’s an insult both to the event’s organisers and the visitors.

Gwark Allen's Space and Time Telescope

Gwark Allen’s Space and Time Telescope

But still, it’s the organisers that can say what’s allowed to end up being present and what’s not – it takes two to tango, you know. I wish Crap Mariner was on board this year…

UPDATE: Be sure to read Crap Mariner’s brutally honest SL10B sim tour.

.

Mona

.

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p2pUmX-eA

