Slavoj Žižek and the Reality of the Virtual

By way of R. Crap Mariner, I was pointed to this lecture by Slovenian philosopher Slavoj Žižek (“the most dangerous philosopher in the West”), which begins by smashing to pieces our prevailing notion of virtual reality and proposing an alternative:

“It simply means ‘let us reproduce in an artificial, digital medium our experience of reality. I think that a much more interesting notion, crucial to understand what goes on today, is the opposite: not virtual reality, but the reality of the virtual. That is to say, reality, by this I mean, efficacity, effectiveness, real effects produced, generated by something which does not yet fully exist, which is not yet fully actual.”

Watch it, and tell me what you think. See you all in a bit!

.

Mona

.

See also:

.

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p2pUmX-ny

