On a personal note…

There have been many things going on, both in my RL and in my SL, and I’m afraid I have to say they’re not always pleasant. My RL has been extremely hectic these days, as far as work is concerned, so I’ve been having very little time to blog about anything. Furthermore, due to issues I’ve been having, both in my RL and my SL, my own desire to write posts has been affected rather adversely.

I sat down and re-read my response to Berry’s “Why do I blog?” meme. In the second question, I think I should add another motive. Besides my initial desire to write about my experiences and views within the D/s realm, I wanted to express myself, find my own voice, demonstrate my ideas, insight, views, and, to be perfectly honest, make myself visible. As time went by, I learned a fair bit – I must give thanks to Inara Pey for her insight and guidance here, as well as several other great people. Yet, I can’t help but wonder exactly where I want to take this blog.

Let’s face it; I can’t make this blog an SL news blog. If you want timely, well-written and detailed coverage of Second Life and its clones, Inara’s got you covered far better than any other such blogger I know. Her blog is the closest you can get to having a well-sourced, documented and written news resource, and, unlike some other blogs I know, she neither posts half-arsed or intentionally flawed posts to stir stuff up and increase page views, nor does she repost other people’s work. Yet, I really don’t want my blog to become like that, and I have neither the time nor the willingness to sacrifice so much in order to maintain a steady flow of daily posts. I want to enjoy my SL for me, and with the people I like and love; I want to experience and live it, as much as I can and, when I feel like it, blog about it.

Lately, due to the fact that my RL often prevents me from blogging about various SL events in time, I’ve come very close to the point of feeling guilty for not being able to cover them. Plus, I simply can’t come to terms with the pressure of having a blog-related backlog.

What does this all mean? Well, for starters, it means I’ve decided to take a breath. I’ve got an awful lot going on in RL. I’ve got things in SL that I want to work through and out. The last thing I want right now is make my blog yet another source of pressure. Also, if you’re expecting me to blog on time about the latest events… Forget it. Look elsewhere. I can’t do it, and I don’t want to do it. I simply am not willing or going to let SL news dictate my blogging agenda. My blog will remain mainly an opinion and personal blog; and I’ll blog about news as I see fit, as my time permits. And it’s more than likely that my posts will become more personal than before.

Finally,  I am fully aware that my decision to keep my blog as a personal and opinion blog means that my views and my writing may occasionally disturb or offend some people. C’est la vie. After all, no one forces anyone to read my posts. If you don’t like them, the internet is full of stuff you may find far more enjoyable and/or compliant with your own views, preconceptions and ideas.

.

Mona

.

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p2pUmX-vc

8 thoughts on “On a personal note…

  1. Thank you for the kind words about my blog. As it is, your opinion on things is always well thought-out and presents solid food for thought on whatever you turn your eye to. So don’t feel pressured into going in any particular direction.

    A blog isn’t a blog if it doesn’t reflect the things which interest you and allows you to say the things you want to say, when you want to say them.

    So I say more power to your thoughts and yous fingers, and keep on writing about the things you want to write about, at the time you want to write about them.

  2. Hello Mona,

    As you know I follow you on Twitter and read your blogs when they arrive in my mail box. Regardless of the topic SL or RL I always find your content rich and bursting with life. Thank you.

  3. I recently took a break when overwhelmed too.. I think it was good for me to step back and think about it …personal always makes for better reading in my opinion

  4. Better less posts, but ones which will come from your’s “heart”, than a lot of posts, which interferes with what you like, takes time from your`s RL and SL life… so, write blog post only when you feel urge, and not when you feel obligated to do that.

    I’m big fan of your’s blog, thank you for sharing your’s thoughts with us 🙂

  5. Good for you! I love to see people breaking free from what they think they “should” be doing, towards what they most want to do. Guilt! Ugh, who needs that useless emotion! Another great learning is recognising that while there are things and people out there we admire, we can continue to admire them without doing the same things or being like them! It’s all part of finding your true voice as a blogger, which seems to be more of an organic result, as opposed to a targeted outcome. This is a good choice. Kudos for making it.

  6. We understand! I’ve felt that pressure, too. You have to look in the mirror and say, “I love you but you have to back off!” *grins* Should and Perfect are the enemy. Silence is an important discipline, so embrace that in this attitudinal transition. Thanks for all you’ve written.

Comments are closed.